Supreme Court on Disability Pension for Soldiers: Major 2026 Judgment Clarifies NANA, Medical Boards, Dharamvir Singh and the 15-Year Rule

Supreme Court on Disability Pension for Soldiers: Major 2026 Judgment Clarifies NANA, Medical Boards, Dharamvir Singh and the 15-Year Rule | Ajit Kakkar and Associates

Case: Union of India & Ors. v. Col. NC Isaac (Retd.) & Connected Matters

Citation: 2026 INSC 993

Court: Supreme Court of India

Date: 15 September 2026

Bench: Justice Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha and Justice Alok Aradhe

A Significant Judgment for Armed Forces Disability Pension Cases

The Supreme Court has delivered an important judgment concerning disability pension claims of Armed Forces personnel. The decision is particularly significant for soldiers, veterans and military-law practitioners because it deals with questions that repeatedly arise before the Armed Forces Tribunal (AFT):

Who has to prove that a disability is attributable to or aggravated by military service? Can a Medical Board simply declare a disease “Neither Attributable to Nor Aggravated by Military Service” (NANA)? Does the famous judgment in Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India continue to apply after the Entitlement Rules 2008? What happens when a disability-pension claim is filed after 15 years?

The Supreme Court has now provided important answers. The controversy before the Court was specifically concerned with entitlement to the disability element of service pension on retirement after completion of service or engagement. Therefore, the judgment should not be mechanically treated as deciding every possible category of disability or invalid pension case.

Why Did So Many Cases Reach the Supreme Court?

The Court noticed a disturbing pattern. In the cases before it, Release Medical Boards had initially classified disabilities of ex-servicemen as NANA — Neither Attributable to Nor Aggravated by military service. Departmental appeals were rejected. The affected veterans then approached the AFT or High Courts, which granted disability pension in many cases. The Union thereafter challenged those decisions before the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court itself noted the larger systemic problem: disability-pension disputes continued to reach the Court despite earlier authoritative decisions on the subject.

The present batch eventually involved around 271 Civil Appeals and Special Leave Petitions, and the Court observed that most were barred by limitation.

The Central Legal Questions

The judgment effectively examines several connected legal issues:

  1. What is the legal relationship between the Entitlement Rules 1982 and Entitlement Rules 2008?
  2. Did the 2008 Rules fundamentally take away the beneficial protection available to soldiers under the 1982 Rules?
  3. Does Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India, (2013) 7 SCC 316, remain relevant?
  4. On whom does the burden of proof lie in a disability-pension case?
  5. What is the effect of the removal of the earlier automatic presumption of sound health at entry?
  6. What happens where the cause of the disease is unknown?
  7. When can a disability be treated as aggravated by military service?
  8. How much weight must the AFT and courts give to the opinion of a Medical Board?
  9. What is the effect of filing a claim more than 15 years after discharge, retirement, invalidment or release?
  10. What is the legal status and manner of promulgation of the Entitlement Rules 2008?

The answers are important for future military pension litigation.

1. The 2008 Rules Did Not Destroy the Beneficial Structure of Disability Pension Law

This is perhaps the most important part of the judgment. The Government argued that the Entitlement Rules 2008 substantially changed the legal position existing under the Entitlement Rules 1982. The Supreme Court did not accept that proposition in its broad form.

After comparing the two sets of Rules, the Court concluded that although the 2008 Rules removed the earlier automatic presumption at entry and expressly emphasised causal connection, the core beneficial structure remains substantially intact.

The Court held that the mere addition of a causal requirement and removal of the earlier presumption do not by themselves alter the core scheme because the other beneficial provisions continue to operate.

This is extremely important for soldiers.

The 2008 Rules cannot simply be read as though the entire beneficial disability-pension jurisprudence developed under the earlier regime disappeared on 1 January 2008.

2. But Disability Arising During Service Is Not Automatically Service-Related

There is an equally important qualification. Under Rule 5 of the 1982 Rules, a soldier was presumed to have entered service in sound physical and mental condition unless a disability was recorded at entry. If deterioration subsequently occurred, the Rules created a strong presumption in favour of the soldier. Rule 5 of the 2008 Rules changed the language. It recognises that the medical examination at recruitment is not exhaustive and that dormant, hereditary, constitutional or congenital diseases may manifest later. Therefore:

The mere fact that a disease first appeared during military service does not, by itself, conclusively prove that it was caused or aggravated by military service.

The Supreme Court expressly recognised this difference between the two regimes. This means that future AFT cases should not be argued solely on the proposition: “The soldier was fit when he joined, the disease appeared during service, therefore disability pension automatically follows.”

The analysis must go further into causation, aggravation, medical reasoning and the conditions of military service.

3. The Burden of Proof Still Primarily Protects the Soldier

This is one of the strongest parts of the judgment from the veterans’ perspective. Rule 9 of the Entitlement Rules 1982 stated that the claimant would not be called upon to prove the conditions of entitlement and would receive the benefit of reasonable doubt. Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules uses the word “ordinarily”, but the Supreme Court held that it broadly carries forward the earlier position.

Accordingly, for ordinary claims made within the prescribed 15-year period, the primary burden remains upon the establishment. The Court said that the onus to establish that the disability is not attributable to service still lies on the employer, while the beneficial principle of reasonable doubt continues to operate in favour of the service member.

This has major practical consequences. A soldier should not ordinarily be required to prove medical causation as though he were prosecuting an ordinary civil claim entirely from scratch.

4. The Major Exception: Claims Filed After 15 Years

The Supreme Court has, however, drawn a clear line at 15 years. The proviso to Rule 7 of the Entitlement Rules 2008 provides that where a claim is preferred after 15 years from discharge, retirement, invalidment or release, the burden shifts to the claimant. The reason is practical: by then relevant service records may have been destroyed after expiry of the prescribed retention period. The Supreme Court expressly held:

If the claimant approaches the relevant forum after 15 years, the burden will be upon the claimant to prove the conditions of entitlement.

This is likely to become one of the most frequently cited propositions from the judgment.

Practical lesson for veterans

A disability-pension claim should not be allowed to remain dormant for years. The difference can be substantial:

Within 15 years: the primary burden ordinarily remains on the establishment.

After 15 years: the burden shifts to the veteran.

That can materially affect the evidence required before the AFT or another competent forum.

5. What Happens When the Cause of Disease Is Unknown?

The judgment gives important protection here too. Under Rule 20(a) of the 1982 Rules, where nothing is known about the cause of the disease and the presumption in favour of entitlement is not rebutted, attributability is to be conceded.

Rule 10(b)(iii) of the 2008 Rules follows substantially the same logic, while referring to the clinical picture and current scientific medical application.

The Supreme Court therefore found substantial continuity between the two schemes. This is important in cases where Medical Boards use expressions such as:

“Idiopathic”

“Cause unknown”

“Constitutional”

or simply “NANA”.

A label by itself cannot necessarily answer the legal question. The medical conclusion must operate within the Entitlement Rules and the applicable medical principles.

6. Aggravation Is Different From Attributability

Another important principle is that a disease need not necessarily have been caused by military service. It may still qualify where military service aggravated it. The Supreme Court compared Rule 20 of the 1982 Rules with Rule 11 of the 2008 Rules and held that the later Rule substantially continues the earlier beneficial scheme.

Rule 11 recognises aggravation where the onset of disability is hastened or its subsequent course worsened by specific conditions of military service, including extreme climate, environmental factors, field areas, operations and high altitude.

This distinction is critical.

The correct question is not always:

“Did military service cause this disease?”

It may instead be: “Did military service hasten its onset or worsen its course?”

That is a much broader and more realistic enquiry.

7. Peace Posting Does Not Automatically Defeat a Disability Claim

The judgment also records the principle emerging from Regulation 423 and the case law that the mere distinction between a field area and a peace station cannot by itself determine entitlement.

The relevant question remains the causal connection with conditions of military service. 

The Court noted the reasoning in Col. Balbir Singh that military life can involve stress even in peace stations, and that onset of a disease in a peace area is not, by itself, sufficient to negate cumulative service-related stress. Therefore, a Medical Board cannot logically end its analysis merely by saying:

“Disease arose in peace station — hence NANA.”

The actual service conditions and medical causation or aggravation must be examined.

8. Dharamvir Singh Has Not Simply Disappeared

Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India, (2013) 7 SCC 316, remains central to disability-pension jurisprudence. In Dharamvir, the Supreme Court had held, among other things, that under the 1982 Rules the claimant did not carry the burden of proving entitlement, the benefit of reasonable doubt went to the soldier, and a Medical Board rejecting service connection was required to give proper reasons.  The 2026 judgment, however, adds an important qualification.

Dharamvir should not be applied mechanically.

For cases governed by the 2008 Rules, the AFT must examine the causal connection, applicable Rules, nature of disease, medical opinion and individual facts. At the same time, the Supreme Court found that the 2008 Rules did not dismantle the claimant-protective framework, including the primary burden on the establishment and the beneficial principles concerning attributability, aggravation and reasonable doubt.

Thus the future approach is not “Dharamvir is irrelevant”, nor is it “Dharamvir automatically decides every case”. The correct approach is a fact-specific application of the beneficial principles in light of the applicable Entitlement Rules.

9. Medical Board Opinion Is Important — But Not Untouchable

This judgment also contains an important caution for the AFT. The Supreme Court held that the opinion of a Medical Board deserves due weight because medical causation involves expert assessment. A court or Tribunal should not substitute its own opinion merely because another medical view is possible. But this does not make the Medical Board’s opinion conclusive or immune from judicial scrutiny. The AFT must examine:

  • whether reasons have actually been given;
  • whether relevant facts and service conditions were considered;
  • whether irrelevant considerations influenced the decision;
  • whether the applicable Entitlement Rules and medical guidelines were followed;
  • whether the conclusion has a rational medical foundation; and
  • whether the NANA conclusion is supported by the record.

The Supreme Court’s final direction is particularly important: in pending matters, the Tribunal must scrutinise in detail the opinion and reasons expressed by the Medical Board before deciding the claim. So neither extreme is correct.

The AFT cannot simply disregard the Medical Board. Equally, the words “NANA by RMB” cannot automatically end judicial scrutiny.

10. An Unreasoned Medical Board Opinion Remains Vulnerable

The judgment discusses Rajumon T.M. v. Union of India, 2025 SCC OnLine SC 1064, where the Supreme Court held that denial of disability pension based upon an unreasoned Medical Board report is unsustainable in law. It also discusses Angad Singh Titaria, where a bare Medical Board conclusion that disability was not attributable to service, unsupported by reasons, was treated as demonstrating non-application of mind. The practical legal principle is therefore significant:

Deference to medical expertise is not the same thing as unquestioning acceptance of an unexplained NANA opinion.

11. Serious Questions Raised About the Entitlement Rules 2008

An unusual and important part of the judgment concerns the very legal foundation of the Entitlement Rules 2008. The Supreme Court recorded that the Union was unable to fully demonstrate the source, time and method by which the 2008 Rules were brought into force so as to repeal or supersede the 1982 Rules. The Court also examined the 2015 Raksha Mantri Committee Report, which had raised serious objections concerning the manner in which the Pension Regulations 2008 and Entitlement Rules were introduced.

However, an important caution is necessary:

The Supreme Court has not finally struck down the Entitlement Rules 2008 in this judgment.

Indeed, while comparing the two regimes, the Court deliberately proceeded on the basis of the 2008 Rules “assuming they otherwise have legal effect”. Therefore, it would be legally inaccurate to report that “Supreme Court declares Entitlement Rules 2008 illegal.”

What the Court has done is highlight serious uncertainty about their authoritative promulgation. Most significantly, the Court said that transparency, clarity and certainty are essential and that the applicable pension rules/regulations should be formulated and authoritatively notified by the competent authority as early as possible.

This observation could have important consequences for future pension litigation.

12. Supreme Court Refers to the Raksha Mantri Committee’s Recommendation Against Repetitive Appeals

The Court expressed concern about repeated Government litigation against disabled soldiers. It referred to the 2015 Raksha Mantri Committee Report, which had recommended withdrawal of appeals of this nature. The Court noted that this recommendation had not been faithfully implemented even after the Ministry of Defence accepted withdrawal of this class of litigation. The statistics noticed by the Court are equally striking.

Out of 2,997 appeals before the First Appellate Authority, 2,855 were rejected and only 142 accepted. At the second appellate stage, 439 out of 456 were rejected, while only 17 were accepted. These figures may now generate a broader discussion about whether the departmental appellate mechanism is functioning as an effective grievance-redressal system.

13. What Did the Supreme Court Finally Order?

The operative directions are concise but extremely important. The Supreme Court held:

First, no case for interference was made out in the batch of appeals and SLPs. They were dismissed both on delay and on merits.

Second, Medical Board opinions deserve due weight and should not be substituted merely because another view is possible.

Third, in pending cases, the AFT must scrutinise the Medical Board’s opinion and reasons in detail before deciding entitlement.

Fourth, where the claimant approaches the forum after 15 years, Rule 7 applies and the burden shifts to the claimant to establish the conditions of entitlement.

What Law Does This Judgment Lay Down for Future Disability-Pension Cases?

For practical purposes, the future legal framework emerging from Col. NC Isaac can be stated this way:

1. Disability during service is not automatically disability because of service. There must be examination of causal connection or aggravation.

2. But the soldier does not ordinarily carry the entire burden. For claims within 15 years, Rule 7 substantially preserves the beneficial allocation of the primary burden to the establishment.

3. Benefit of reasonable doubt remains important. The 2008 regime did not destroy the claimant-protective character of disability-pension law.

4. Unknown cause can still favour attributability. Where the cause of a disease remains unknown and the presumption is not properly rebutted, the Rules contemplate concession of attributability based on the clinical picture and current medical science.

5. Aggravation must be separately considered. Even if service did not cause a disease, entitlement may arise if military conditions hastened its onset or worsened its course.

6. A NANA opinion is not the end of the matter. The reasoning of the Medical Board must withstand judicial scrutiny.

7. But the AFT cannot simply replace medical expertise with its own opinion. Medical Boards receive due deference. Intervention requires examination of reasons, relevant material, applicable rules and defects in the decision-making process.

8. Dharamvir survives, but its application must be fact-specific. It cannot be mechanically applied to every post-2008 disability case merely because the soldier was fit at enrolment.

9. The 15-year rule is now crucial. After 15 years, the burden shifts to the veteran.

10. The Government needs clarity in its pension rules. The Supreme Court has expressly called for applicable rules and regulations to be authoritatively formulated and notified by the competent authority.

Why This Judgment Matters to Soldiers and Veterans The real importance of Col. NC Isaac lies in the balance drawn by the Supreme Court. The Court has not created an automatic right to disability pension merely because a disease arose during military service. At the same time, it has rejected an interpretation under which the beneficial structure of disability-pension law disappeared after the 2008 Rules.

The Government cannot simply place a NANA stamp on a disability and treat the matter as closed. The Medical Board must provide a medically and legally sustainable opinion. The establishment continues to bear the primary burden in ordinary claims within 15 years. Aggravation remains independently relevant. Unknown causation does not automatically defeat a claim. And the AFT retains an important judicial role in scrutinising the reasoning behind medical conclusions.

For veterans, however, there is one clear warning from this judgment:

Do not sleep over a disability-pension claim. Once the claim crosses the 15-year threshold contemplated by Rule 7, the evidentiary position materially changes because the burden shifts to the claimant.

The Next Legal Questions Likely to Reach the Courts The judgment resolves much, but it also leaves important questions for future litigation.

One major issue is the precise legal status of the Entitlement Rules 2008. The Supreme Court has expressed concern over their promulgation but has not struck them down.

A second issue will concern what evidence is sufficient for the Government to discharge its primary burden where a Medical Board records NANA.

A third will be the standard of reasons expected from Medical Boards, particularly in diseases such as hypertension, diabetes, ischaemic heart disease, psychiatric disorders and other conditions where causation or aggravation may be multifactorial.

A fourth will concern the interaction between the 15-year rule and cases where the veteran had already raised the claim departmentally but approached the judicial forum much later.

A fifth important issue will be how future Medical Boards demonstrate a genuine disease-specific causal analysis rather than merely reproduce standard expressions such as “constitutional” “idiopathic”, “peace station” or “not connected with service”.

These questions are likely to shape the next phase of disability-pension jurisprudence before the AFT, High Courts and Supreme Court.

Conclusion

Union of India v. Col. NC Isaac (Retd.), 2026 INSC 993, is an important Supreme Court judgment on Armed Forces disability pension. Its central message is nuanced but powerful:

The 2008 Entitlement Rules did not wipe away the beneficial protections available to soldiers. The primary burden ordinarily continues to rest on the establishment; reasonable doubt and aggravation remain relevant; and an unsupported NANA finding cannot escape judicial scrutiny. At the same time, disability arising during service is not automatically attributable to service, Medical Board expertise deserves due weight, and claims brought after 15 years place the burden upon the veteran.

For military-law practitioners, the focus in future cases should therefore move from merely asking “Was the soldier fit at enrolment?” to the more complete legal enquiry:

What does the Medical Board say, what reasons does it give, what were the actual service conditions, what is the causal or aggravating connection, has the establishment discharged its burden, and was the claim raised within 15 years?

About the Author

Ajit Kakkar & Associates, New Delhi, appears before the Supreme Court of India, Delhi High Court and other high courts,  the Central Administrative Tribunal and Armed Forces Tribunal (Principal Bench) in matters related to Service law for Army, Navy, Air Force, BSF, CRPF, CISF, ITBP, Coast Guard, Assam Rifles, GREF, Delhi Police, Civilian Govt Employees and other Govt employees. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *